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THIS BOOKLET contains general information regarding your
responsibilities and rights to receive unemployment benefits. The
information is not law — it is provided only to assist you in the unemployment
claims process. The purpose of Unemployment Insurance is to offer basic
protection against economic insecurity. The program helps unemployed
workers while they look for work. The money for your unemployment
benefits comes from employer taxes. Workers do not pay any part of the
cost of unemployment benefits. No deductions were made from your wages
to help pay for this program.

Notice to claimants

Federal law requires you to furnish your social security account number
on the claim application in order for your application to be processed.
Authority for this requirement is provided in Title I1I of the Social Security
Act and the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 [26 U.S.C. 85, 6011(a), 6050B,
and 6109(a)]. ODIJFS will use your social security number (1) to report
your unemployment compensation to the Internal Revenue Service as
potentially taxable income; (2) as a record index for processing your claim;
(3) for statistical purposes; (4) to verify your eligibility for unemployment
compensation and other public assistance benefits; and (5) as otherwise
required or permitted under applicable federal or state law, including Chapter
4141 of the Ohio Revised Code.



Filing an Application

Applying for benefits

To file a new application for Ohio unemployment benefits or to reopen an
existing Ohio claim, you can:

File online at http://unemployment.ohio.gov.

You may access our website 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Limited
service may be available while our system is being updated nightly.
Check the website for available services.

File by telephone at 1-877-OHIOJOB (644-6562) or TTY: 1-888-642-
8203.

Business hours are 7:30 a.m. — 4:30 p.m., Monday — Friday (except
holidays). Peak call times are Monday and Friday. For faster service
call on Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday or file online. When you call,
please be sure to have paper and a pencil ready.

Information needed when applying

You should be prepared to provide the following information when you
file a new application:

Your social security number and either your driver license or state ID
number

Your name, address, telephone number, and e-mail address

The name, address, telephone number, and dates of your employment
with each employer for whom you worked during the past 6 weeks

If you had out of state employment within the previous 18 months, the
name, address, telephone number, and dates of your employment for each
employer with whom you worked out of state during the past 18 months

If you were separated from military service with any branch of the U.S.
armed forces within the past 18 months, your discharge papers (form
DD-214, member 4)

If you were employed by the federal government within the past 18
months, the SF-8 and/or SF-50 form given to you by your government
employer at the time of your separation
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* The reason you became unemployed from each employer
* Dependents’ names, social security numbers, and dates of birth
* Ifclaiming dependents, your spouse’s name and social security number

* Alien Registration Number and the expiration date of your work
authorization (if you are not a US citizen or National)

*  Your regular occupation and job skills

Claiming a dependent child

You may claim as your dependent a child, step-child, or adopted child
under 18 years of age for whom you provided more than 50 percent of the
cost of support during the 90 day period prior to filing your application.
You may also claim as your dependent a child, stepchild, or adopted child
18 years of age or older who is mentally or physically disabled and unable
to work if you provide proper documentation of the disability. Your
dependent(s) will not be allowed if you have a spouse who filed for
unemployment compensation within the past year and received an increased
weekly benefit amount because she/he claimed dependents.

Claiming a dependent spouse

You may claim as your dependent your spouse who lives with you, if during
the 90 day period prior to filing your application, he/she had income less
than 25 percent or your base period average weekly wage and you provided
more than 50 percent of the cost of his/her support.

When to file an application for benefits

You should file your application as soon as you become unemployed. Your
claim will begin the Sunday of the calendar week in which it is filed. Waiting
more than a full week to file your application will postpone the beginning
of your claim and no benefits will be paid for weeks of unemployment that
occur prior to the week of filing.

What to expect

Whether you file your application by telephone or on the Web, the process
will take about 20 — 25 minutes. If you are filing online and are disconnected,
you can use your Username and PIN to log back into the application and
resume answering questions. The information you have entered will be
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retained for 24 hours from the time you begin a new application. Your
application is not considered “filed” until you certify and receive a
confirmation number. Keep this deadline in mind if you are disconnected
or if you choose to sign off and sign on again at a later time.

Restarting a Claim for Benefits

Restarting a claim for benefits

If you are determined eligible for unemployment benefits, your benefits
are payable during a 52-consecutive week period (called a benefit year).
Within the benefit year, you have a limited amount of money from which to
draw your benefits (called total benefits payable). If during the benefit year
of your current claim you return to work and are separated or you have
earned gross wages greater than your weekly benefit amount, you must file
an application to reopen your claim—even if you continued to submit weekly
claim forms during your employment.

To reopen, access your claim online at http://unemployment.ohio.gov, or
dial 1-877-OHIOJOB (644-6562) during the first week you are unemployed
or have gross earnings less than your weekly benefit amount. Waiting more
than a full week to file an application to reopen your claim may prevent
benefit payment for weeks of unemployment that occur prior to this date.

Information needed when reopening

You will be required to provide the name, address, and dates of employment
with each employer for whom you have worked since you last claimed
benefits. You should have this booklet and your ID documents (state driver
license, state identification card) for reference when you file.

Filing Weekly Claims For Benefits

Filing weekly claims

You accomplish this by filing claims for a week or weeks of unemployment
for which you want to receive benefits. When you file, you will respond to
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questions concerning your activity and status for each week. When you file
aweekly claim, you will respond to questions concerning your activity and
status for each week. Answer all questions honestly. Ohio law provides
penalties including fines and/or imprisonment for fraud. Remember, if you
do not file a claim for a week of unemployment, you will not receive benefits
for that week.

For your convenience, you may file your weekly claims in two ways:

* Online: You may file online at http://unemployment.ohio.gov. If you
did not file your application online, the first time you access your claim
online you will need to enter your User Name (social security number)
and your PIN.

* Automated Telephone System: You may call 1-877-OHIOJOB (644-
6562) if you have a touch-tone telephone. To access the telephone sys-
tem you will need your social security number and your PIN.

If you do not have access to either a touch-tone phone or the Internet, please
contact your processing office. The name and phone number of that office
was provided on the New Claim Instruction Sheet that was mailed to you
when you filed your initial application.

Your Personal Identification Number (PIN)

The first time you file a new claim, you will be provided a PIN number.
You will use this PIN to access your claim through the automated telephone
system or online. You are responsible for the security of the PIN. Your PIN
is an electronic signature and has the same legal authority as your signature
on a paper document. Do not give your PIN to anyone. You are responsible
for all claims filed and all information given to this department using your
PIN and Social Security Number. You may be subject to fraud charges if
you allow someone else to use your PIN to file for benefits. If you believe
someone knows your PIN, if you forget your PIN, or if you want to change
your PIN for any reason, you may request a new one either by calling the
automated phone system or by calling your processing center. Your new
PIN will be mailed to you. To recover a forgotten PIN, you may also use
your “hint” question online.

When to file weekly claims

Weekly continued claims for benefits are normally filed on a bi-weekly
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basis. However, you may claim the first three weeks after filing a new
claim on a weekly basis and then switch to bi-weekly. Each week starts on
Sunday and ends Saturday. You can file your continued weekly claim no
earlier than the day after the week ends, and no later than 21 days after the
last day of the week.

For example, in the chart below, the individual filed an initial claim on
Tuesday of Day 3. The claim is effective on Sunday, Day 1. He/she should
file the first continued weekly claim for week ending Day 7 on Sunday,
Day 8, the next one for week ending Day 14 on Sunday, Day 15, and the
third for week ending Day 21 on Sunday, Day 22.

SUN MON TUE WED THU FRI SAT
Week ending Day 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Week ending Day 14 8 9 10 11 12 13 14
Week ending Day 21 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
Week ending Day 28 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

After the first three weeks, you can continue to file claims weekly only if
you authorize ODJFS (1) to deposit your unemployment compensation
directly into your bank account and (2) to issue all correspondence
electronically, rather than through the postal system.

If you do NOT authorize ODJFS to directly deposit your benefits into your
bank account and issue only electronic correspondence, you will be converted
to a biweekly (every other week) claim schedule. Instructions for requesting
direct deposit and electronic correspondence are included in this booklet.

For example, in the chart on page 7, the individual has filed for the first
three weeks of benefits and has not authorized either direct deposit or
electronic correspondence. He/she is switched to bi-weekly filing and would
not file for week ending Day 28 and week ending Day 35 until the day after
the second week of the bi-weekly period ends, Day 36.



SUN MON TUE WED THU FRI SAT
Week ending Day 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Week ending Day 14 8 9 10 11 12 13 14
Week ending Day 21 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
Week ending Day 28 22 23 24 25 26 27 28
Week ending Day 35 29 30 31 32 33 34 35
Week ending Day 42 36 37 38 39 40 41 42
Week ending Day 49 43 44 45 46 47 48 49
Week ending Day 56 50 51 52 53 54 55 56

Requesting direct deposit and/or electronic correspondence

You can request your benefits be paid by direct deposit at any time by
accessing your claim online at http://unemployment.ohio.gov or by calling
your processing center. If making this election online, go to the Main Menu
and choose “Update Direct Deposit Information.” You must provide your
bank’s name, complete address, your account number and the bank’s routing
number. See example below for obtaining your account number and the
bank’s routing number.

MARK STONE
MELISSA STONE 0301
914 UPPER CREST LANE 9-58781234
ANYWHERE U.S. 12345

Date—7M —
P ay to the
I

Doliars

YOUR FINANCIAL INSTITUTION
ANYWHERE U.S.

For
IZL23L5E7B0IR 2imLGEm 71" 0301
£ AN A\,

BankRu/uting Number Account?ﬂumber checENumher

You can use these same methods to request that all notices are provided to
you electronically. If making this election online, go to the Main Menu and
choose “Update Personal Information.” You do not have to choose
electronic correspondence to have your benefits deposited directly into your
bank account. However, you must choose both to receive your benefits
weekly rather than bi-weekly.



Establishing Eligibility

You must meet the following basic requirements to have
your application for unemployment benefits allowed.

1. You are unemployed at the time you file your claim.

2. You have worked in a sufficient number of weeks and earned sufficient
wages in “covered” employment during the base period of your claim.
See below for specifics regarding these terms.

3. You are not unemployed due to a “quit” that is determined to be without
just cause or a “discharge” that is determined to be with just cause.

4. If you previously established a claim, you must have had six weeks of
“covered” employment and earned three times the average weekly wage
in work performed since that first application before you can establish
another new claim.

Weeks worked

You must have worked in a minimum of 20 weeks in covered employment
during the base period. This may be for any number of employers who pay
unemployment taxes.

Minimum earnings

If you file your application during 2005, you must have an average weekly
wage of at least $186 during the base period before taxes or other deductions.
This wage amount changes each year and applies to the year you file your
application — not the year worked.

Covered employment

Employment is considered “covered” if your employer was subject to the
unemployment compensation payroll tax for your wages.

Base period

The regular base period is the first four of the last five completed calendar
quarters, before your claim begins.



If your claim begins between these dates: Your base period will be:

October 4, 2004 through January 1,2005 July 1, 2003 through June 30, 2004

January 3, 2005 through April 2, 2005 October 1, 2003 through September 30, 2004
April 4, 2005 through July 2, 2005 January 1, 2004 through December 31, 2004
July 4, 2005 through October 1, 2005 April 1, 2004 through March 31, 2005

October 3, 2005 through December 31,2005 July 1, 2004 through June 30, 2005

Note: If you worked 20 weeks, but the weeks do not fall within the regular
base period or your average weekly wage was less than the established
minimum within the regular base period, you may still be able to establish
a right to benefits if the weeks fall within the alternate base period. The
alternate base period is the last four completed calendar quarters before
your claim begins. The alternate base period may be used only if you do
not qualify for benefits using the regular base period.

If your claim begins between these dates: Your base period will be:

October 4, 2004 through January 1, 2005 October 1, 2003 through September 30, 2004

January 3, 2005 through April 2, 2005 January 1, 2004 through December 31, 2004
April 4, 2005 through July 2, 2005 April 1, 2004 through March 31, 2005
July 4, 2005 through October 1, 2005 July 1, 2004 through June 30, 2005

October 3, 2005 through December 31,2005  October 1, 2004 through September 30, 2005

Reasons for unemployment

Lack of work

If you were laid off due to a “lack of work” (for example, your job was
abolished, the business closed, or the plant shut down), you will be
considered as unemployed through no fault of your own. Your employer
will be asked to verify the reason for your unemployment.

Voluntarily quit or left your job

If you quit your job when the option of remaining employed existed, you
will be considered to have caused your own unemployment. To establish
eligibility for benefits when you voluntarily quit, you must show that you
had “just cause” for leaving the work. Some examples of reasons for quitting
your job that may establish “just cause” are:

*  Your employer failed to meet terms of the employment agreement.
* Your employer failed to provide proper safety measures required by law.
*  Your work violated accepted moral or legal standards.

9



The burden is on you to produce information that you had “just cause” for
quitting your employment. The legal standard under Ohio law that
determines whether a quit is for “just cause” is whether the action taken
was one that would be taken by an ordinarily prudent person under similar
circumstances.

Discharged or fired

If your employer dismissed you from your job, you may not be eligible for
benefits. By law, the employer must establish that your discharge was for
just cause.

Some examples of the reasons for discharge that may establish “just cause” are:
* You violated established company rules.

* You neglected your job responsibilities.

* You disregarded the employer’s interest.

*  You performed your work poorly.

However, if the sole reason for discharge is that you refused to perform
duties that were known to endanger your health or violated accepted legal
standards, your discharge will not be considered to have been for just cause.

A DETERMINATION OF UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION will
state whether your application for unemployment benefits is allowed or
disallowed and will provide you with specific information as to the reason(s)
for being allowed or disallowed.

Remember, if you disagree with any determination, you have appeal rights.

Re-qualifying for benefits

If your application for unemployment benefits was disallowed because of
the reason for your unemployment, you can re-qualify by meeting ALL of
the following requirements:

* You must obtain new employment in “covered” employment and work
at least the number of re-qualifying weeks and earning the amount of
wages indicated in your DETERMINATION OF UNEMPLOYMENT
COMPENSATION notice.

* You must file a new application for benefits. Any entitlement will be
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based on and effective with the new application.

* Youmust meet all other requirements for establishing eligibility for benefits.

Determining weekly benefit amounts

Your weekly benefit amount is computed at 50 percent of your average
weekly wage during your base period. However, in no case may the weekly
benefit amount exceed the state’s annually established maximums. The
maximum levels are based on the statewide average weekly wage and the
number of dependents claimed. The 2005 maximums for each dependency
classification are given in the following table:

$662 or more

3 or more (o] $892 or more $446

Other Eligibility Considerations

Once your application is allowed and your benefit amounts are established, other
factors will be considered before you are paid benefits for weeks of unemployment.

Unemployed due to a labor dispute

If you are unemployed because of a labor dispute other than a lockout, you
will be disqualified from unemployment benefits during the dispute. On
the other hand, if you became unemployed because of a lockout, the labor
dispute will not disqualify you from eligibility for benefits.

Unemployed due to a leave of absence or disciplinary layoff

If you are unemployed because you are on a voluntary leave of absence,
you will be disqualified from unemployment benefits during the period of
the leave. If you are unemployed due to a suspension or disciplinary layoff
imposed by your employer for misconduct in connection with your work,
you will be disqualified from benefits.

Able to work

You must be physically and mentally able to perform work in your trade or
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occupation. If you are ill and unable to work during one or more days of
your normal work week, you may be considered unable to work and not
entitled to benefits for that week. If you are not physically able to work in
your trade or occupation, you may receive benefits only if you furnish
medical evidence that you can do other types of work.

Available for work

To be considered available for work, you must be ready and willing to
work any shift of any occupation consistent with your prior training and
experience. If you restrict hours, wages, or conditions of employment, which
limit your chances of obtaining work, benefits may not be paid for the
week claimed.

Attending school

You must notify ODJFS if you are attending school while claiming benefits.
You will be interviewed about your availability for work. Although
individuals generally are not eligible for benefits while attending school
full-time, the law contains the following provisions that may permit you to
collect benefits while in school.

* If you were attending school while working and continue school after
becoming unemployed, you may be considered available for work while
in school; or

e If you enroll in a training course approved by ODJFS and make
satisfactory progress.

Actively seeking work

When filing your claim, you will be informed of the minimum work-search
efforts you must make each week (Sunday through Saturday) to remain
eligible for benefits.

* Most people are required to actively seek suitable work on their own. If
$0, Ohio law requires you to keep a written record of your efforts to find
work during each week. You may record your contacts on the pages at
the back of this booklet. Be prepared to either show your record of work
search efforts to an ODJFS representative, or submit a copy by mail
upon request. Failure to provide proof of your work search efforts may
result in benefits being disallowed.
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*  You must seek full-time work either in the locality where you worked or in a
locality where your type of work is normally performed. If working part-time,
you must still seek full-time employment to meet eligibility requirements.

* You may be required to register with SCOTI (Sharing Career
Opportunities and Training Information), ODJFS’s job matching
system, for job placement assistance. To access the job matching system
online, or for a list of locations where you can register in person, go to
http://scoti.ohio.gov. You may speak with a Customer Service
Representative at your claims processing center if you have questions
concerning your registration status.

* You may be required to remain active with your labor organization if
your union has a hiring hall and this is the normal method you follow to
obtain work. To remain active, you must be a member in good standing
and eligible for placement or referral. Ohio law requires you to keep a
written record of contacts with your union to obtain work. Record your
union contacts on the pages at the back of this booklet.

*  You may be required to make yourself available to your former employer
for work and to keep him/her informed as to how to contact you for work.

* Ifyou live out-of-state and do not normally commute to work in Ohio,
you may be required to register for work with your state’s labor ex-
change system.

Time limitations for filing weekly claims

You must file for benefits for a week of unemployment no later than three
weeks (21 days) following the ending date of the week being claimed.
Benefits will be disallowed unless you can establish that the late filing was
for reasons beyond your control.

Registration requirements

You are required to remain registered for unemployment benefits with
ODIJFS. You register when you file a new or additional claim or file a
weekly claim for benefits. Such registration remains in effect for a period
of three calendar weeks (including the week of registration). Benefits may
be disallowed for any week in which you do not meet the registration
requirements.
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Accepting offered work

You must notify ODJFS if you are offered work in any week you claim
benefits. If you do not accept work, you will be interviewed to determine if
the work was “suitable” and whether you had “good cause” to refuse.

To decide if the work was “suitable,” ODJFS considers factors such as; the
amount of risk to your health, safety, and morals; your physical fitness for
the work; your prior training and experience; the distance from your home
to the work; the length of your unemployment; and your prospects for
obtaining local work.

If you refuse suitable work, your benefits may be suspended, unless your
reason for refusing is one permitted by Ohio law. For example, your benefits
may continue if you cannot accept the work because you are not qualified.

Note: Your prior earnings are not a factor in determining your suitability
for work.

Ohio Re-Employment Services Program

The Re-Employment Services Program identifies claimants who are likely
to exhaust their unemployment benefits. Such individuals are randomly
selected to be provided with special re-employment services.

If you are selected, you will receive information about the availability and
benefit of re-employment services and job openings. Your attendance at an
initial orientation session, as well as participation in any subsequent re-
employment services in which you have agreed to participate, will be
required as conditions of your eligibility for unemployment benefits. Failure
to attend the orientation session may result in delay or denial of
unemployment compensation benefits.

Earnings and income

You must report earnings for services performed and any income paid or
payable to you while you are claiming unemployment benefits.

Earnings

If you work part-time or perform odd jobs during weeks for which you file

14



for unemployment benefits, you may still be paid unemployment benefits
if your earnings are less than your weekly benefit amount. You must report
gross earnings for the week (Sunday through Saturday) in which it is earned
even if you have not yet been paid.

If your earnings are less than your weekly benefit amount, Ohio law allows
you an exemption of 20 percent of your weekly benefit amount before a
deduction is made. An example of how this is computed appears on the
right.

Note: Holiday pay is Example: the weekly benefit amount is $100.00 and
deducted after the 20 weekly earnings are $40.00.

percent earnings exemption | To calculate the earnings deduction:

is applied.

Total earnings in week $40.00
Minus earnings exemption

Note: If earnings/holiday (20% of $100.00) -20.00
Equals earnings deduction $20.00

pay are equal to or greater
than your weekly benefit To calculate amount of benefits paid:
amount, no benefits will .
b d R ¢t all Weekly benefit amount $100.00
€ Pal : epqr a Minus earnings deducted -20.00
earnings, even if they Equals benefit amount paid $ 80.00
would not affect your
weekly benefit amount.

If you need to file a claim for a week of unemployment that follows a week
of excessive earnings (equals or exceeds your weekly benefit amount), you
must reopen your claim no later than Friday of the week you will be claiming.

Other Income

You must report all weekly income, including payments other than wages. If
the money is determined to be deductible from your benefits, the entire amount
of money will be deducted. Types of income that may be deductible include:

* Severance pay
e Vacation pay
* Pensions

* Social Security
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*  Workers’ Compensation
* Company Buy-Out Payments

If the deductible income is less than your weekly benefit amount, your
weekly payment will be reduced by the amount of income for the week.

Some types of income may not be deducted, such as:

* Supplemental unemployment benefits (S.U.B.)

e US national guard/armed forces reserve pay for scheduled drills
* Interest dividends

* Rental income

Note: Review your unemployment check stub for a breakdown of all the
above deductions. If you think this income is being deducted incorrectly,
ask ODJFS for a written determination so that you may file an appeal.
Refer to the “Appeal Rights” section.

Verifying information that may disallow a payment

Whenever ODJFS receives information that raises a question concerning
your continued eligibility, you will be notified in writing. The NOTICE
OF ELIGIBILITY ISSUE will provide the following information:

* The specific issue(s) which may result in the denial of your benefits
* The beginning date of the issue

* What action caused the eligibility issue to be raised

You will have five business days from the date on the notice in which to
respond with any additional information relating to issue(s) identified on
the form. You may submit witness statements, doctor’s statements, or other
documents to support your testimony. All information received by the end
of the five-day period will be used to determine your eligibility to receive
benefits. You also have the right to request a fact-finding interview within
the five day period. Instructions will be provided on the notice.

If you are paid benefits for any weeks that are later disallowed, you will
receive a DETERMINATION of UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION
BENEFITS notice that identifies how much you were overpaid.
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Receiving the first payment

It may take up to four weeks from the date you file your initial claim to receive
the first payment. The earliest your payment may be issued is during the third
week. Once payment starts, your payments are normally made every two weeks
unless you have requested direct deposit and electronic correspondence.

Waiting week

Ohio law requires that you serve a one-week waiting period after filing
each initial application for benefits. The waiting week is the first week you
claim which meets all of the eligibility requirements; however, no benefits
are paid for this week. Therefore, your first payment will not include this
first week. Even if you are unemployed for only one week, you must
complete the weekly claim for it to fulfill your waiting week requirement
for that benefit year. Do not delay in filing for your waiting week.

Federal income tax withholdings

Benefits received for unemployment compensation are subject to federal
and Ohio state income tax. When you file for benefits, you are asked if you
would like taxes withheld from your unemployment compensation check
at the rate of 10 percent for federal income taxes only. You will be permitted
to change your selection one time during your benefit year. ODJFS will
send you a 1099 form by January 31 of the year after you collected benefits.
To learn more about estimated taxes and how to pay them, call or visit the
Internal Revenue Service.

Child support payment withholdings

The law requires that child support payments, including spousal support and
arrearages, be deducted from unemployment compensation benefits when
certain conditions are met. These conditions include that ODJFS has received
awithholding order from a child support enforcement agency (CSEA) charged
with administering Part D of Title IV of the Social Security Act.

If you are required to pay child support to a Child Support Enforcement
Agency, and ODJFS has not received an order to withhold these payments,
you may elect to have child support withheld from your benefit payments.
You may make this election at any time after filing your initial application
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by calling your processing office. Any election will be canceled upon receipt
of a withholding order.

Overpayment of Benefits

Receiving benefits to which you are not entitled

If you received benefits to which you are not entitled, you will receive a
determination that states:

*  Why the payment was incorrect or disallowed
*  What weeks were paid incorrectly

* The amount of the incorrect payment

* Any penalties if fraud was involved

Warning: If your application for benefits rights or a weekly claim is
canceled due to fraud, you will be ineligible for two otherwise valid
weekly claims for benefits that are claimed within six years after the
date the misrepresentation is discovered. These ineligible weeks are
identified in decisions as “penalty weeks.”

If you believe that you were not overpaid, or that the amount of the
overpayment is incorrect, you must file an appeal within 21 days of the
date the overpayment determination was issued.

You must repay overpaid benefits. Any overpayment not repaid will result
in weekly benefit payments to which you are otherwise entitled being
withheld until the overpaid amount has been recovered (repaid).

Repayment should be made by check or money order, payable to the Ohio
Department of Job and Family Services, and mailed to

* OP Repayment Lockbox
ODJFS
P. O. Box 951456
Cleveland, Ohio 44193
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Be sure to include your social security number on the
check or money order. Do not send cash.

If you have an outstanding overpayment, you will receive an account
statement at the end of each month until the full amount has been recovered.

Receiving Correspondence

Concerning Your Claims for Benefits

Correspondence

You may choose to receive and/or respond to any correspondence relative
to your unemployment compensation claim by U.S. Mail (paper) or
electronically. If you choose to receive your correspondence electronically,
an e-mail will notify you when new correspondence is posted to your online
account. The e-mail will direct you to log on to your account to view your
correspondence. Whether you select U.S. Mail or e-mail, you may still
access and respond to all correspondence sent to you online.

Appeal Rights

If you disagree with any decision about your claim, you should file an appeal.

How to file an appeal

There are several appeal levels. How to file an appeal at each level is
explained below:

e Appeal from an Initial Determination

If you disagree with an initial determination, you may file a written
appeal with ODJFS within 21 calendar days of the date the determination
was issued. Include your social security number, the date and
identification number of the determination with which you disagree,
and the reason(s) for your disagreement.

You may file your appeal by mail or by FAX with the processing center
identified on your initial determination, with any ODJFS Processing Center
or you may file your appeal online at http://unemployment.ohio.gov
(available only from 6:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m. daily).
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You will receive a written confirmation of the receipt of your appeal. All
other interested parties, such as your employer(s), will receive a notice
indicating your reason for filing the appeal. ODJFS has 21 calendar days
from the date your appeal is received to either issue a redetermination or
refer the appeal to the Unemployment Compensation Review Commission
(UCRC). The commission will then either schedule a hearing on the appeal
or transfer the appeal to ODJFS for processing of a Redetermination.

+ Appeal from a Redetermination

If you disagree with the redetermination, you may file a written appeal to
the UCRC within 21 calendar days of the date the redetermination was
issued. Include your social security number, the date of the redetermination
with which you disagree, the reason(s) for your disagreement, and, if you
are employed during the day and desire a telephone hearing during non-
working hours, the hours you are available for a hearing. You may file
your appeal with any of the following:

J The ODIJFS Director
Bureau of UC Benefits
145 South Front Street
P.O. Box 182863
Columbus, OH 43218-2863

*  Any ODJFS Claims Processing Center (P.O. Boxes, telephone
numbers and fax numbers provided at the back of this booklet)

*  Fax:(614) 466-8392
*  Online at http://unemployment.ohio.gov

If filed in time and accepted by the UCRC as an appeal, your case will be
scheduled for either an in-person or telephone hearing before a hearing
officer. If a telephone hearing is scheduled, but you prefer an in-person
hearing, you must notify the UCRC within 10 days of the notice that an
appeal has been filed. You must then agree to travel to a hearing site close
to the location of the other parties. The hearing officer will issue a
determination on the information contained in your file and presented at
the hearing.
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* Request for Review by the Ohio Unemployment
Compensation Review Commission (UCRC)

If you disagree with the UCRC hearing officer’s decision, you may
request a review by the UCRC within 21 calendar days of the mailing
date of the hearing officer’s decision. Your appeal should state that you
are requesting a review of the hearing officer’s decision; why you disagree
with the hearing officer’s decision; and if you are employed and prefer a
non-working hours hearing and the hours you are available. You may
file your appeal with any of the following:

. The ODIJFS Director
Bureau of UC Benefits
PO Box 182299
Columbus, OH 43218-2292

. Fax: (614) 752-8862

The UCRC may allow or deny your request for review. If denied, you will
receive a notice to that effect. If allowed, the UCRC may issue a decision
based on the record of the earlier hearing or hold a further hearing. To
change a telephone hearing you must notify the UCRC within 10 calendar
days of the notice allowing the request for review. For an in-person hearing,
you must agree to travel to a site close to the other parties.

* Appeal to Common Pleas Court

If you disagree with the UCRC decision, you may file a notice of appeal
with the common pleas court of the county in Ohio where you reside or
were last employed. Appeals must be filed within 30 calendar days of
the mailing date of the UCRC decision. If your appeal is filed after 30
days, the court of common pleas will determine the timeliness of your
appeal in accordance with Ohio Revised Code Section 4141.282 (I). In
your notice of appeal, you must include all interested parties listed on
the UCRC decision(s), including the Director of ODJFS. Be sure to
identify the decision being appealed.

When the UCRC receives the notice of appeal, it will file a certified
transcript of the record from which the appeal is being filed with the
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clerk of court. The UCRC will also mail a copy of the transcript to you
or your legal representative.

The court will hear the appeal based on the certified UCRC Transcript.
Contact the clerk of the appropriate court for other rules and deadlines.
A listing of the courts appears in this booklet.

e Further Court Appeals

If you disagree with the decision of the Common Pleas Court, you may
appeal your case further, as in civil cases.

Time limits for filing appeals

All appeals have filing time limits that must be met. Each decision states
the time limit for filing an appeal. If you disagree with a decision, you
should file the appeal immediately upon learning of the decision.

Appeals not involving the courts must be filed within 21 calendar days
after the date the determination or decision was mailed. Your appeal will be
considered timely if it is received or postmarked within the 21-day appeal
period. If the 21st day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the
appeal period will be extended to the next working day.

If there is a question regarding timely receipt of your appeal, the following
items have been accepted as evidence that your appeal was received by the
agency: 1) a certified mail receipt; 2) a document confirming that your fax
was received; 3) if you filed online, the printed confirmation screen with
the date.

The appeal deadline may be extended if certified medical evidence is
presented which establishes that your physical condition or mental capacity
prevented you from complying within the appeal period. In these situations,
the appeal will be considered timely if filed within 21 days after the end of
the physical or mental condition.

Appeals to the common pleas court must be filed within 30 calendar days
after the date the final UCRC decision was mailed.
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File claims during an appeal

You should continue to file claims for any weeks you are unemployed. If
an appeal is decided in your favor, you’ll receive payments only for weeks
properly claimed. Claims must meet the late filing and registrations
requirements identified in this booklet.

Right to representation

An authorized agent of your choice, such as an attorney, may represent you
at any level of agency appeal. ODJFS is not responsible for any expenses
resulting from the representation.
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COMMON PLEAS COURTS IN OHIO

County
Adams
Allen
Ashland
Ashtabula
Athens
Auglaize
Belmont
Brown
Butler
Carroll
Champaign
Clark
Clermont
Clinton
Columbiana
Coshocton
Crawford
Cuyahoga
Darke
Defiance
Delaware
Erie
Fairfield
Fayette
Franklin
Fulton
Gallia
Geauga
Greene
Guernsey
Hamilton
Hancock
Hardin
Harrison
Henry
Highland
Hocking
Holmes
Huron
Jackson
Jefferson
Knox
Lake
Lawrence

City

West Union
Lima
Ashland
Jefferson
Athens
Wapakoneta
St. Clairsville
Georgetown
Hamilton
Carollton
Urbana
Springfield
Batavia
Wilmington
Lisbon
Coshocton
Bucyrus
Cleveland
Greenville
Defiance
Delaware
Sandusky
Lancaster
Washington Court House
Columbus
Wauseon
Gallipolis
Chardon
Xenia
Cambridge
Cincinnati
Findlay
Kenton
Cadiz
Napoleon
Hillsboro
Logan
Millersburg
Norwalk
Jackson
Steubenville
Mount Vernon
Painesville
Ironton

County
Licking
Logan
Lorain
Lucas
Madison
Mahoning
Marion
Medina
Meigs
Mercer
Miami
Monroe
Montgomery
Morgan
Morrow
Muskingum
Noble
Ottawa
Paulding
Perry
Pickaway
Pike
Portage
Preble
Putnam
Richland
Ross
Sandusky
Scioto
Seneca
Shelby
Stark
Summit
Trumbull
Tuscarawas
Union
Van Wert
Vinton
Warren
Washington
Wayne
Williams
Wood
Wyandot

City

Newark
Bellefontaine
Elyria

Toledo
London
Youngstown
Marion
Medina
Pomeroy
Celina

Troy
Woodsfield
Dayton
McConnelsville
Mount Gilead
Zanesville
Caldwell

Port Clinton
Paulding

New Lexington
Circleville
Waverly
Ravenna
Eaton

Ottawa
Mansfield
Chillicothe
Fremont
Portsmouth
Tiffin

Sidney
Canton

Akron

Warren

New Philadelphia
Marysville

Van Wert
McArthur
Lebanon
Marietta
Wooster
Bryan

Bowling Green
Upper Sandusky
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Unemployment Compensation Programs

Unemployment Compensation for Federal Civilian Employees (UCFE)
— If your base period employment was in civilian employment with the
federal government.

Unemployment Compensation for Ex-Military Personnel (UCX) — If
you were serving active military duty during the base period and meet
additional federal eligibility requirements. Your ODJFS local office can
help you obtain the required form DD-214 member 4 copy.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) — If you do not qualify for Ohio
unemployment benefits and your unemployment is caused by a federally
declared major disaster, you may be eligible for benefits under this program.

Seasonal Claim — If you worked for one seasonal employer during the
base period and worked only during that employer’s seasonal period you
will not be eligible for benefits unless you are unemployed during that
seasonal period.

Educational Claim — Special conditions apply if you had employment
with an educational institution during your base period. Ifyou are separated
from an educational institution and have “reasonable assurance” of
employment in the next school term, you may be disqualified from benefits
during the between term period.

Interstate Claim — If your base period employment was in Ohio, but you
reside in and are seeking work in a state other than Ohio, your unemployment
claim will be an Ohio Interstate claim.

Combined Wage Claim (CWC) — If you have worked in more than one
state during your base period the state you are in when you file your
application for benefits will be the state that is liable for the payment of
your benefits. However, if you are in another state when you file your
combined wage claim, but you commute to Ohio to work, you can file your
claim with Ohio.

Job Placement Assistance — ODJFS provides many services to help you
obtain suitable employment, including: placement, special services for
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veterans, labor market information, inter-area recruitment, and community
cooperation. For more information, call 1-877-644-6562.

Benefit Accuracy Measurement — Your claim is subject to audit. The US
Department of Labor requires that randomly selected unemployment
compensation claims be audited for accuracy. You will be required to
cooperate if your claim is selected.

The Trade Act Programs - Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) and
Alternative Trade Adjustment Assistance (ATAA) assist individuals who
have become unemployed as a result of increased imports from, or shifts in
production to, foreign countries. A petition for TAA or ATAA may be filed
by a group of three or more workers, by a company official, by One-Stop
operators or partners (including state employment security agencies and
dislocated worker units), or by a union or other duly authorized
representative of such workers. The workers on whose behalf a petition is
filed must be, or have been, employed at the firm or subdivision identified
in the petition. For more information, go to http://www.doleta.gov/tradeact/

Other Programs

Health Coverage Tax Credit (HCTC) - A federal tax credit that pays 65
percent of the health plan premium for eligible people enrolled in qualified
health plans. This is not a government insurance program. Displaced workers
receiving Trade Readjustment Allowance (TRA) and individuals who would
be eligible to receive TRA, but have not yet exhausted their unemployment
benefits, are eligible for HCTC. Individuals must be covered under a qualified
health plan. For more information, contact the Internal Revenue Service.

IRS Customer Contact Center

(toll free) 1-866-628-HCTC

TDD/TTY 1-866-626-4282

Website: http://www.irs.gov (IRS keyword: HCTC)

Other Benefits: You may be eligible for other kinds of benefits for
yourself and your family, such as food stamps, health insurance and
childcare. For more information, visit the ODJFS website at http://
jfs.ohio.gov/ or contact your county department of job and family
services (CDJFS). A listing of county agency addresses and phone
numbers is available online at http://jfs.ohio.gov/county/cntydir.stm
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Below is a listing of ODJFS Claims Processing Center locations and contact
information. Itis important to note that “regular” Ohio claims are assigned
to the Processing Centers based on the last 4-digits of the claimant’s Social
Security Number. Other “special” claim types, as listed at the bottom of
the chart, are assigned to the Special Claims Unit.

Social Security # Range | ODJFS Unemployment - Phone Fax
Mailing Address
(based on last 4-digits) Processing Office 9 Number Number
- P.O. Box 350
0000-0379 Painesville Painesville, OH 44077-0350 866-546-0012 | 440-352-2547
P.O. Box 43039
0380-1463 Cleveland Richmond Heights, OH 44143-0047 866-576-0006 | 216-732-2914
P.O. Box 22569
1464-1680 Akron Akron, OH 44308-0569 888-582-0112 | 330-252-6518
P.O. Box 8768
1681-2385 Canton Canton, OH 44711-8768 866-768-0022 | 330-438-7688
. P.O. Box 570
2386-2602 Lorain Lorain, OH 44052-0570 866-431-0035 | 440-244-7882
) P.O. Box 758
2603-3252 Mansfield Mansfield, OH 44901-0758 866-849-0029 | 419-528-4023
- P.O. Box 370
3253-3740 Tiffin Tiffin, OH 44883-0370 866-472-0003 | 419-443-7105
. P.O. Box 889
3741-4147 Bowling Green Bowling Green, OH 43402-0889 800-589-2799 | 419-353-3016
P.O. Box 1298
4148-4364 Toledo Maumee, OH 43537-1298 866-377-0022 | 419-891-8835
P.O. Box 4506
4365-4771 Sherwood Sherwood, OH 43556-4506 888-582-0145 | 419-783-3467
. P.0. Box 1150
4772-5178 Zanesville Zanesville, OH 43702-1150 866-217-0008 | 740-452-2895
P.O. Box 13449
5179-5395 Columbus Columbus, OH 43213-0449 866-235-0056 | 614-387-3629
- P.O. Box 454
5396-5747 Chillicothe Chilicothe, OH 456010454 866-244-0399 | 740-774-8517
P.O. Box 686
5748-6126 Jackson Jackson, OH 45640-0686 866-731-0014 | 740-286-0506
P.O. Box 490
6127-6478 Reno Reno, OH 457730490 866-867-0044 | 740-374-8625
P.O. Box 747
6479-6749 Ironton Ironton, OH 45638-0747 888-582-0170 | 740-532-6616
P.O. Box 1198
6750-7996 Youngstown Youngstown, OH 44501-1198 866-221-0558 | 330-884-7288
- P.O. Box 46424
7997-8213 Cincinnati Springdale, OH 45246-6424 866-376-0027 | 513-551-5959
P.0. Box 97
8214-8430 Dayton Dayton, OH 45404-0097 888-582-0133 | 937-235-4649
. P.O. Box 167
8431-9162 Fort Loramie Ft. Loramie, OH 45845-0167 866-541-0187 | 937-295-6378
. P.O. Box 1808
9163-9650 Lima Lima, OH 45802-1808 866-272-0118 | 419-228-6347
. i P.O. Box 077
9651-9999 Saint Clairsville St. Clairsville, OH 439500077 866-249-0028 | 740-695-8051
Combined Wage Claims,
Disaster Unemployment
Assistance Claims, Ex- P.O. Box 1618
Military Claims, Federal Special Claims o . 866-458-0007 | 614-752-4809
Civilian Employee Claims, Columbus, Ohio 43216-1618
and
Professional Athletes
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